Christmas & Chill with Ariana Grande’s New EP

Christmas & Chill with Ariana Grande's New EP

Photo Credit: Getty Images

For fans of pop and R&B star, Ariana Grande, Christmas has come early. Around 12 PM on Thursday, Grande announced her surprise Christmas EP entitled Christmas & Chill via Twitter.

The day before, Grande had been tweeting mysterious Christmas themed lyrics and emojiis, hinting at what was to come. Fans had already received a tease for the song “True Love” via SnapChat a few days before. Originally thought to just be on her new album Moonlight due out in 2016, “True Love” appears on the Christmas & Chill EP along with five other songs.

The tracklist for the EP is as follows:
1. Intro
2. Wit It This Christmas
3. December
4. Not Just on Christmas
5. True Love
6. Winter Things

The album reportedly only took a week to make and was produced in Ariana’s home studio according to her Twitter. After the announcement was made, she answered questions from fans about the album and tagged her friends/producers that helped the album come to fruition.

Ariana previously released a Christmas EP in 2013 entitled Christmas Kisses, which featured classics like “Santa Baby” and “Last Christmas.”

Ariana Grande is frequently compared with Mariah Carey for her range and style, and is someone who Ariana also cites as an influence. Mariah had the most popular Christmas song for decades “All I Want For Christmas Is You,” until The Shins’ version of Paul McCartney’s “Wonderful Christmastime” knocked her from the number one spot this year.

It’s possible that Ariana intends to follow in Mariah’s footsteps with her Christmas releases, since she’ll undoubtedly keep releasing EP’s and possibly full Christmas albums in the years to come.

Christmas & Chill was released on iTunes in the US around 9 PM PST yesterday prompting the Twitter hashtag #BuyChristmasAndChillOniTunes to trend. It’s on sale for $4.99 as a digital download only for now.